Tickets for grace

Blank TicketA camp I went to as a kid gave out tickets for snacks. I can’t remember how many tickets we got each day–say four.  Different snacks were worth different point values.  You could get maybe a little dish of ice cream.  Or two Fruit Roll-Ups.  Or maybe cheese crackers.  But you could not get ice cream, Fruit Roll-Ups, and cheese crackers.

If I am really honest, I look at grace a lot of the same way.  I act as though God has given me a certain number of tickets each morning to spend on forgiveness.  Then I look at what I’ve done wrong in the day.  I try to pay out the tickets to cover the sin I owe.

And, invariably, I always run out of tickets before I run out of sin.  And, although I would never voice it this way, it goes something lie this,

I could pay for those eighteen small sins.  Or this one big sin.  Or this sin trap I keep falling into over and over.  But how am I going to pay for them all?

When I do this, although I’m not thinking about it this way, I’m acting as though the blood of Jesus is limited.  As though Christ in His death on the cross was willing to pay for some of my sins, but not all of them.  What would that have accomplished?  Why do I think Christ would go through such a terrible death and then only partway save me?

There are no tickets of grace.  There should be no worry for the Christian over whether or not Jesus is willing to cover all our sins.  When we focus on whether there’s enough grace, we miss out on delighting in what grace is: God’s undeserved forgiveness of us and help for us in our time of need.

Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need. (Hebrews 4:16, NIV)

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2014/06/09/tickets-for-grace/trackback/

