Married

A few weeks ago I was filling out a form that asked my status: single, married, divorced.  I checked single.

Then I caught myself and scribbled it out.

Today, I was thinking about Ben and I spending more time with other singles like us and I realized again.

I’m not single anymore.

I’m still in limbo between calling myself my old last name and my new one.  Because I haven’t gotten everything transferred over to my new name, I still get people calling asking for me by my old last name.

And, most of the time, I forget to wear my wedding rings.

This time of learning to be married but still sometimes thinking like a single reminds me of how, as believers, we sometimes act like beggars and orphans, even though we are really royal children of God.  This new identity can be difficult to live out simply because we are so used to being who we were before.

This is all the more reason to be gracious towards our family of believers, especially new believers.  We are all learning what it means to be a new person, and we are all growing into our identity as children of God.  We should be gentle and encouraging when we remind our family in Christ who they are in Him.

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come (2 Corinthians 5:17, ESV)

Follow God’s example, therefore, as dearly loved children and walk in the way of love, just as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God. (Ephesians 5:1-2, NIV)

Since God chose you to be the holy people he loves, you must clothe yourselves with tenderhearted mercy, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience. (Colossians 3:12, NLT)

Published in: on June 12, 2014 at 1:25 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2014/06/12/married/trackback/

