Inheriting Light

You will also thank the Father, who has made you able to share the light, which is what God’s people inherit. (Colossians 1:12, GWT)

InheritingLight

When you think of the word “inheritance”, what comes to mind? A bag full of cash? Stocks and bonds? An estate sale? What about light?

As believers in Christ, the inheritance we have is light.

Doesn’t that sound incredibly peculiar to our ears, and yet breathtakingly spectacular at the same time?

Like many children, I was terrified of the dark. If you would have told me as a five or six year old getting ready for bed that God’s gift to us is light, I would have immediately gotten the significance—in a way that maybe we forget as adults.

In the dark, I can imagine all sorts of things looming around the room. But with even a small nightlight, the room is transformed into an ordinary bedroom made for rest. If I enter my house in the dark and hear a loud crash, I am filled with panic. However, if I flip the lightswitch on and see my dog looking rather sheepish beside a broken lamp, I am filled with relief.

What is light? What is this gift that God gives us?

It’s both the first thing He made for the heaven and earth (see Genesis 1:3) and one way He describes Himself (see 1 John 1:5). Light is a picture of who He is.

God gives us clarity about the dark around us and, most importantly, inside us. We can only see sin as what it really is when God’s Light breaks through the darkness. Before that, we are oblivious to the danger and damage of sin in our lives. When we become believers, that Light lives within us. We see the world through new eyes—and we wonder how we never saw it this way before. As we mature as believers, the Light inside us grows brighter and brighter, and more and more we glimpse how things really are.

What is our inheritance as believers? Light. There is no inheritance I’d rather have. The richness of gold streams, pouring over our hearts in love. This is no ordinary light. This is God’s Light, and with it we will one day live in a new heaven and new earth (see Revelation 21:23). In our new dwelling, it is not the sun or the moon that illuminates our way, but Christ Jesus Himself.

My heart’s desire is to inherit this Light. As a child I longed for light at night, and even now, at nightfall, I find myself longing for the skies to be filled with the sun’s honey-glowing rays and not the blind, unfeeling blanket of darkness. I’m so joyfully thankful to be a child of God, that one day I will live not with the temporary light of the sun or the dim light of the moon or the tiny light of a nightlight, but with the Light Himself.

You will also thank the Father, who has made you able to share the light, which is what God’s people inherit. (Colossians 1:12, GWT)

Published in: on July 1, 2014 at 10:46 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2014/07/01/inheriting-light/trackback/

