Down Memory Lane

Lately I’ve found myself going down memory lane, revisiting things from my childhood,: back to Puffalumps and Smooshees, Double Dare and Glow Worms, My Little Pony and the doll with Play-Doh hair you could really cut, Super Nintendo and Commander Keen, Milton-Bradley board games and Lost ‘n’ Found plushies.

The things I remember from the 80’s are more than nostalgic. They carry with them a sense of safety. After all, I made it through the 80’s. Revisiting them is like somehow entering a “time freeze”—a safe zone in which I already know what’s going to happen.

When I think about even this taste of what eternity might feel like, I’m overwhelmed that Christ would come from such a safe zone and enter the frail and very mortal world of you and I.

I try to go back to the 80’s to feel young again and a little immortal; but Jesus really was in eternity everlasting. He had no beginning and no end. Yet He chose to step out of tha realm and, for a time, become part of our time march, even experiencing the curse of death.

Jesus stood on the edge of the abyss of death, all He had to do was call on His Father, and a multitude of angels would come to whisk Him back into the priceless security of eternity.

He didn’t have to stand before the clock of time. He didn’t have to relinquish the last second of his life or plunge into the pit of death. He was the one, the only human being, who has ever been able to control when He died.

But He chose to yield to mortality so that He could break the hands of time once and for all for even the worst of sinners.

I can go down memory lane and try to relive a little of my childhood, but I can never get it back. Yet, because of Christ, I don’t have to look at my life as a wind down to death. Instead, the death I will have one day (unless Christ returns first) will unravel to life. That is the promise of eternity with Christ.

And that’s something I don’t have to be nostalgic about. Because the life I’ve never even dreamed of . . will always be right in front of me.

“No eye has seen, no ear has heard, and no mind has imagined what God has prepared for those who love him.” (1 Corinthians 2:9b, NLT)

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2014/07/31/down-memory-lane/trackback/

